facebook twitter instagram
15000-1504879540.jpg

Beth G. | Chicago, Illinois

September 9 2017 Bark busters rating

Howard and Marlene are AMAZING. We had started having trouble with our English Bulldog Ody walking on the leash he would bite and pull. 6 months ago this behavior carried over into the home, he would jump on us whenever we were in the kitchen or trying to pull something from the oven. After just one session with Howard and Marlene we saw such a notable improvement in Ody's behaviors! I have tried many other dog trainers in the past and had lost hope that someone could help us with our dog, but I'm so happy I tried one last time. I cannot recommend or praise them enough for what they've done for our family.

hyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallother
14985-1504552893.jpg

Roberta S. | Evanston, Illinois

September 5 2017 Bark busters rating

I had the initial puppy training five and a half years ago. I was very pleased with their improvement. In recent months, we moved from a fenced yard to a condo building. Between the use of elevators and the needs for daily walks, my dogs both needed training modifications.

Marlene came out and accomplished all my hopes in one training session. My dogs and I are doing great. We continue to work on all our training lessons daily.

The dogs now have beautiful elevator manners, which have been praised by many in the building. They walk correctly and trust me to be their alpha.

I am no longer jerked about on our walks or keeping up with them as they chase squirrels. All those bad habits are in our past!

I am so grateful to Barkbusters. My dogs are happier and our home is peaceful!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadother

Laura M. | Chicago, Illinois

August 10 2017 Bark busters rating

Marlene and Howard have been terrific. We have two rescues, one of whom has a largely unknown history. We needed training with regard to aggression of the dogs and leadership by us. Our aggressive rescue is a changed dog. I no longer dread going for walks for fear of negative encounters with both people and dogs. I can now enjoy a leisurely walk and my rescues now enjoy allowing me to be the leader. Thank you! I am so very happy that my husband and I reached out to Marlene and Howard.

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy training

Sidney R. | Highland park, Illinois

July 29 2017 Bark busters rating

Marlene has done a sensational job left me with the tools and mindsets to be able to properly train my dog she is always available for questions or comments I appreciate the dedication

Sidney Rosenberg

jumping uppulling on leadrecalltoiletingpuppy training
14813-1500065151.jpg

Kim G. | Chicago, Illinois

July 15 2017 Bark busters rating

I could cry writing this review because I'm so HAPPY with the results. After our first lesson with Howard and Marlene, Leo was already a changed dog.

Leo is a 1.5 year old dachshund who began to develop some behavioral issues. I have had him since he was a puppy and nothing horrible has happened to him, it just felt like one day he decided he didn't like people. I grew up with dachshunds, so I know they are barkers, but Leo's bark is another story... It was aggressive, it was SO loud, it was piercing, and it didn't stop when we were greeted by strangers or when someone was at the door, etc. Then we noticed he attempted to bite couple of guest we had over when they were on their way out... That was our breaking point. I should also add that he is not fond of kids.

We have only had 3 lessons so far, and Leo is a changed dog. Last weekend a kid sat down right next to him and he did NOTHING. We can now take him to places where there are lots of people and he doesn't even bark! IT'S AMAZING! I'm honestly still in awe of his transformation.

Bark Buster's techniques are not cruel and they teach your dog to think with his brain and not his stomach. We had looked at a couple other training facilities before finding Bark Busters and I'm so glad we went with Bark Busters. I cannot recommend Marlene and Howard enough, they have made my life and Leo's life so much more enjoyable!!!

aggressionbarkingpulling on leadother
14739-1498251950.jpg

Jen B. | Highland Park, Illinois

June 24 2017 Bark busters rating

I am so very grateful to have found Marlene Marks and Bark Busters. I am a long time german shepherd owner who was a quite rusty at raising a puppy. As a result our teenage GSD was taking the leadership position in our home, and consequently outside. I took her to off-site courses, leash reactivity classes and also hired a private trainer who came for months and used tradition neck corrections on her. I finally got tired of watching my dog yelp at a high level correction, especially because it really did nothing to permanently address her issues. As a smart dog, she was learning basic commands easily, but that wasn't establishing me as leader in her eyes. Enter Marlene. She identified our problem immediately. She left our home a few days ago and everything she showed me to do has had immediate results...without me having to give harsh corrections. My husband was astonished when he was able to answer a delivery to our door with our unleashed dog in a still and silent sit with no issue at all. I see now all along what I needed wasn't more commands, it was a method to help me earn her trust and establish myself as the leader without forcing her. I got this training from Bark Busters. Marlene trained me not my dog. Also the wagg walker is a wonderful tool and the game changer keeps her occupied for extended periods of time. One last note...I had come to just accept leash reactivity would be a forever unsolvable problem. With the wagg walker, I am now able to walk her past dogs without explosions. Thank you Marlene and Bark Busters. I intend to refer you to anyone who will listen.

aggressionhyperactivityjumping uprecallother

Cathy A. | chicago, Pennsylvania

May 19 2017 Bark busters rating

when Marlene told me that my dog could be trained, I really didn't think my eight year old rescue dog could change. Marlene's confidence in the program made me give it a try. Marlene gave me the skills I needed to train my dog who had separation anxiety. There were many times that we thought we would have to give her up but we persevered because we knew there was a chance that she would be put down. Our dog was always a sweet dog but she would flip out whenever we left the room or went out somewhere, this was extremely stressful for us. I am more than thrilled to say that my dog has done a complete turn around and the stress level in our house has gone down tremendously. I feel like we have a new dog thanks to Marlene.

barkingjumping upseparation anxietytoileting
14433-1491150364.jpg

Susan R. | Libertyville, Illinois

April 3 2017 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters has a lifetime follow up policy. Several years we used Bark Busters' services. The trainer that we had subsequently retired, we moved, but Bark Busters is still there for our dogs! Marlene Marks has taken over wonderfully. She has been working with me and our Bernese Mountain Dog, Tyson and our German Shepherd, Jake in our new home. She has addressed our issues and has followed through completely. The dogs aren't done yet, but we are making progress with the second- time around. Great lifetime customer support! I am impressed!

aggressionrecallrivalry
14216-1486310814.jpg

Kaitlin B. | Deerfield, Illinois

February 6 2017 Bark busters rating

Marlene and Howard were great! We adopted a young girl, and like many dogs who have been adopted, she had her share of issues. It is always hard to know how to address these without knowing a dog's history. After one visit our girl was great on the stairs (no longer running us or her big brother down), had good front door manners, and we were well on our way to stopping her mouthing. By the end of the first visit our girl finally relaxed. It was amazing - we had not seen this prior to Marlene and Howard working with her - it allowed us to get a glimpse of who our girl could be. We have good tips and tricks to help with her mouthing issues, treating her brother with respect, and enjoying life. She is becoming a very good dog. Thank you.

chewinghyperactivityjumping uprivalrypuppy training

Ann M. | Evanston, Illinois

February 3 2017 Bark busters rating

The training so far has been excellent. It has exceeded our expectations.

hyperactivityjumping uprecallpuppy training

Laurel P. | Chicago, Illinois

December 9 2016 Bark busters rating

Bear had his first session of intensive personal training this morning. we were gifted with a training harness and a bunch of tips to keep him from pulling on the leash, jumping on people, and just being crazy in general. I just took him out for his first walk after the session and it's like he's a totally different dog! I finally feel like I can control this monster! thanks Bark Busters Chicago!! we'll be putting your wonderful advice to good use and we can't wait for our next session! 😍

barkinghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecall
13969-1479248937.jpg

Liz D. | Chicago, Illinois

November 16 2016 Bark busters rating

Marlene is wonderful. She took her time and explained in detail and answers all of our questions. The first training was the longest and he learned the most. Her follow up questions are helpful and she really gets to know us and our Brownie. I feel like I have been learning a lot with Marlene. More importantly, I feel like she cares about our dog and wants to help us.

aggressionpulling on leadrecall
13952-1478976422.jpg

Kasie J. | Chicago, Illinois

November 13 2016 Bark busters rating

Bark Busters training has been so incredibly helpful for our greyhound, Brie! She was having problems with separation anxiety when we would leave for work, and we also didn't feel like she was listening to us when we wanted her to do something. Bark Busters [Marlene] first and foremost helped US learn how to understand Brie and train her in a way she would understand. By practicing the training techniques every day, we can tell she is much happier and feels safer in our home. And it makes us so proud of her! These are skills that we will be able to carry with us and will benefit us and Brie far into the future.

separation anxiety
13819-1475360153.jpg

Sandi P. | Beach Park, Illinois

October 2 2016 Bark busters rating

Marlene and Howard have been absolutely wonderful!!!! They make sure WE understand how to train our puppy and always walk through everything we need to know and do! Kinser has come a long way in a couple of months and we could not be happier!!! I would recommend them to anyone!!!!

aggressionjumping uppulling on leadpuppy training
13618-1471549604.jpg

Wendy M. | Chicago, Illinois

August 19 2016 Bark busters rating

Marlene and Howard are amazing. Our Shitzu, albeit sweet, was a rescue with boundless energy and few manners. In no time, with short easy to schedule and easy to follow home training, he is an obedient angel. Marlene leaves you copious notes, so you don't forget what she taught you. They do not use punishment at all. They also use treats sparingly! But it works!

Then a year later, we had an issue come up where Chewy started being aggressive with big dogs. True to their promise, I called Marlene and scheduled a visit to work on that issue. They came and again offered an easy to implement solution. They are wonderful people and very knowledgeable about animals.

aggressionhyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallpuppy training

Colin R. | Chicago, Illinois

June 19 2016 Bark busters rating

Marlene, Howard and Brandon have been an invaluable resource to our household pack. Having two dogs with drastically different personalities has been extremely challenging. As the problems piled up, we finally realized we needed professional help. We are so thankful to have found Bark Busters. After only the first visit, we were able to completely correct issues that have been a nuisance for over a year. Before Bark Busters, we were forced to adjust our lives to accommodate our dogs and "band-aid" situations instead of addressing them head on. Now after every session, we are left feeling confident and excited to further improve our lives with our dogs. The Marks family has always been so accommodating and responsive, and they are always there for a quick text or phone call. We feel very fortunate to have them in our lives, and can not be more thankful. Thank you Bark Busters!

aggressionbarkingchewingdigginghyperactivityjumping uppulling on leadrecallrivalryseparation anxiety

Rocco T. | Evanston, Illinois

June 2 2016 Bark busters rating

Meg has made remarkable progress thanks to your training and help. She has become very obedient, always follows our instructions and does not pull when walking. Only occasionally we have to say BAHH with a clap of hands if new people come to the house.

We do not need your help now, however we will contact you if there is such need.

Thank you again and warm regards.

Rocco and Christina T.

barkingjumping uppulling on leadrecall

Karen S. | Evanston, Illinois

May 11 2016 Bark busters rating

Wow! Instant transformation. The training and excellent harness design eliminated so many issues and quickly .Our dog responded automatically. It was as if she was saying "finally - you guys are figuring out how to talk to me". She is the same lovable dog but "gets the message immediately". It offers us a "uniform language of minimal words" to use. Once the trainers demonstrated the skills they had my husband and I do it in their presence and gave us corrections to ensure we were doing it right. No rushing and very thorough. I have told everyone who will listen about how amazing this program is. I feel more calm and in control of what was already a good dog and is now so much better. I tried several other training classes and private trainers but this is really an effective methodology and very affordable considering how much time and materials we receive. I can't say more good things about the program and the people involved. Marlene and her son Brandon have been so pleasant to work with and the extra bonus of both inside and outside training make it almost fool proof. It has made exiting our condo building so much less hectic and we all feel so much more confident. Thanks BarkBusters.....you are the true dog whisperer company as far as I'm concerned. BAH to you all:-)

aggressionbarkingjumping uppulling on leadother
13116-1462216025.jpg

Liz T. | Chicago, Illinois

May 3 2016 Bark busters rating

Marlene and Brandon were amazing at helping me better understand my dog, Stanley, a 3 year old black lab rescue and to ensure clear, consistent communication with him (in a way he understands). After our first session, Stanley's behavior significantly changed for the better. I can say that 3+ months later, he (and I) have maintained that change. Thank you to Marlene and Brandon for making my household less stressful for both Stanley and me.

barkingjumping uppulling on lead

Amy S. | Chicago, Illinois

March 9 2016 Bark busters rating

I had an issue where my dog was barking at other dogs, and it escalated to her barking at people she did not recognize. Marlene came out and worked with me and Chela and gave me new behaviors to try. She said it would take 3-5 weeks for this behavior to become ingrained in Chela. She was right to the day! Now I know how to be the alpha and make sure she is praised when she does the right thing - but is given signals when dogs are approaching to remind her how to behave. Walks are so much more pleasant.

aggressionbarking